Black Friday: The Biggest Third Dimensional Trap ever sold to you.

Jennifer Lancaster
9 min readNov 23, 2021
Photo by Justin Lam on Unsplash

The Shadow Side of Black Friday

I’ve always hated Black Friday for as long as I can remember. Maybe because I previously worked in the restaurant business and I can relate to the people who work in retail being on their feet all day, not being able to eat, dealing with rude customers abusing them. Maybe it’s the companies using so much FOMO in their advertising it physically makes me sick.

Whatever it is, I have never been a Black Friday fan. So I was interested to find out that Black Friday has extremely dark roots. I recently went digging to learn more about Black Friday, and I discovered an article in the Huffington Post which explains where it comes from (and I’ll link to the article at the end of this post). One quote which I loved from the article highlights the darkness of Black Friday.

​​”Black Friday” is the name which the Philadelphia Police Department has given to the Friday following Thanksgiving Day. It is not a term of endearment to them. “Black Friday” officially opens the Christmas shopping season in center city, and it usually brings massive traffic jams and over-crowded sidewalks as the downtown stores are mobbed from opening to closing.” by Casey Bond

--

--

Jennifer Lancaster

Soulpreneur Intuitive life coach, certified Angel card reader, traveler, foodie, house music lover, artist, lover of life. IG- @jenergy17