Discovering Spiritual Erotica

Jennifer Lancaster
5 min readJan 20, 2022

What I Learned From Writing Fiction.

From my photoshoot by @theessencephotographer IG Candace Smith

“I wish I would’ve slept with that guy.”

I was talking to my friend about a guy I met at a festival last year in the Spring. While I realized that in hindsight, the truth is that when I met him, it never crossed my mind to sleep with him. I was so in awe of him being so comfortable in his sexual expression that I just viewed him as an observer. It didn’t cross my mind that I actually would’ve liked to sleep with him until I was home and the festival was over.

“Write a story as if you had slept with him,” my friend replied.

The friend that I’m referring to is a writing professor at a college. As the words came out of her mouth I wondered why I hadn’t thought of that. But why would’ve I thought of that? I’m not a writing professor.

In addition, I had never written fiction before, and I told her as much. Her reply surprised me.

“Fiction is great because it will take you places that you’ve never been before. The characters will come to life and start writing the story themselves. You’ll tap into another part of your brain that you may have not used before.”

I was intrigued. Wow. I never saw this as an option. I had written a non-fictional blog (read it here) about this guy, about how…

--

--

Jennifer Lancaster

Soulpreneur Intuitive life coach, certified Angel card reader, traveler, foodie, house music lover, artist, lover of life. IG- @jenergy17